speaking here

032

i have written your words on my skin
to hold while i learn to speak you.
shaped my tongue and breath around names
that ache with the smell of you,
murmured exhaled ripples
along my palate
across your pebble bed back
to the edge of sandy places
where your forest being
crowds the shore.

i have written what the birds sing
and the shape of morning leaves
in letters and ink on my skin
to hold them close
until i learn
to speak you.

 

November 2015


Re-visiting an older poem for Sherry at Earthweal’s weekly challenge: SAY THE NAMES

https://earthweal.com/2021/09/27/earthweal-weekly-challenge-say-the-names/

12 thoughts on “speaking here

  1. This is so incredibly lovely, Lindi. Wow. Thank you so much for sharing it. I especially love the idea of learning to speak the language of a place. I especially love the closing lines. Just gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “that ache with the smell of you,
    murmured exhaled ripples
    along my palate
    across your pebble bed back
    to the edge of sandy places”
    Love the sound of this ….all those L’s and P’s!!
    JIM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment